Second Generation. 

I’m the problem. 

Yesterday, I was on this Wage Gap HIGH. White women make 79/81 cents to white men. Latinas are 54/55 cents. 

And I realized why. I agreed to translate some dialogue for another project. A project I wasn’t involved with. Out of my jurisdiction. Helping out colleagues. When payment was brought up, I immediately denied it. 

I wanted to help. I was already working during working hours. It would bring me joy to help. I was excited for the opportunity. All true. Yet, I denied payment. I was also thinking– I’m grateful for what I have. I have a paying job. I have my own transportation. I have freedom to wear what I want. Do what I want. I’m OK. I have enough. 

Enough. But not equal. But not anywhere near 81 cents. A wise woman once said: I’m a woman. I’m allowed to change my mind. 

I changed my mind, I said. I want payment, I said. And whatever the number is, I want to negotiate. 

I’ll keep you posted. 

Leave a Reply

